Our Heritage

For over 80 years, the Arlington Garden Club has been an anchor in the community, bringing life to lifeless areas and pretty colors to dull corners.  With a relentless pursuit of community participation, the garden club members still go about their business beautifying whatever they touch.

Our club was founded in 1934 to provide members with the opportunity to share their love of gardening with each other and our community.  Through "planting and caring for growing things, and encouraging others" we celebrate and cultivate the beauty of nature.

Past Presidents:

1934-35    Mrs. Charles Meyers

1936         Mrs. L.R. Palmer

1937         Mrs. Einar Brotton

1938-39    Mrs. John Enselman

1940         Mrs. Edward Soper

1941         Mrs. J. Cohoon

1942         Mrs. Fred Verd

1943-44    Mrs. John Wrage

1945-46    Mrs. Albert Lamp

1947         Mrs. Phillip Pearson

1948-49    Mrs. Hildor Eliason

1950-51    Mrs. L.C. Palmer

1952-53    Mrs. M. Pautzke

1954-55    Mrs. Leo McCollough

1956-57    Mrs. Henry Stedman

1958-59    Mrs. J.W. Wiggs

1960-61    Mrs. E. Oman

1962        Mrs. E. Brandt

1963-64   Mrs. Harry Sparks

1965        Mrs. M. Gates

1966-67   Mrs. E. Fatland

1968-69   Mrs. Joe Sabo

1970-71   Mrs. Clyde Ruckert (Myrtle) 1972-73   Mrs. H.E. LaRoche

1974-75   Mrs. Robert Kuhnhausen (Inez) 1976-77   Mrs. E. Holland Pollard

1978-79   Mrs. Leslie Lothian (Roberta) 1980-81   Mrs. Robert Wolfe (Johnadine) 1982-83   Mrs. H.E. LaRoche

1984-86   Val Templin

1988-90   Connie Dreke

1990-92   Mrs. Charles Donnelson

1994-96   Mrs. Larry Davis

1997-99   Gloria Carlson

1999-2001  Inez Kuhnhausen

2001-03   Virgina Hatch

2003-07   Linda Follett

2007-09   Tina Wilson

2009-11   Bea Randall

2011-13   Carol Jacques

2013-15   Meg Jacobsen

2015-      Connie Gronning

Arlington Garden Club

Myrtle Ruckert Award

The Myrtle Ruckert Award is presented annually in May to the person(s), organization or company chosen by the Arlington Garden Club members for extraordinary effort and commitment to keeping Arlington green. The award was first presented in 2001.

Honorees include:
2001  Terry Littlejohn & Sarah Hegge
2002  Margaret Larson
2003  George Boulton
2004  Bill Blake
2005  John Evans
2006  Jack & Joann Gray
2007  Brian & Connie Foster
2008  Duane Weston
2009  Arlington Arts Council
2010  Kay Duskin & Steve Peterson
2011  Bill Blake 
2012  Terri Marsh
2013  Bea and Chuck Randall
2014  award was retired

    Roberta Lothian Award
The Roberta Lothian (Gardener of the Year Award) was presented for the first time in June of 2010.  This award will be presented annually to a member of the Arlington Garden Club who will be selected as a person who has performed extraordinary service to our club or our community.

Honorees include:

2010  Jean Olson
2011  Meg Jacobsen
2012  Tina Wilson
2013  Judy Ness
2014  Mike Conner and Barb Woodward

2015  Judy Headrick
2016  Jack and Joyce Lybyer